Posted by: cherrylaurel | December 12, 2008

Wish of a Soldier’s wife

Me and mom were at the mall this afternoon trying to find our way to great bargains and discounts. When mom decided to  get groceries, I was left in a popular food chain and there I remembered what I was supposed to post on my blog as my Christmas gift to those who feels they are alone in the dark.

While a lot of people are happy doing their holiday shopping and busy wrapping their gifts for friends, Mariel Cammayo, 7 months pregnant, a native of Tuguegarao City is busy doing something more important than thinking of what fun to do this Christmas. She is the wife of an Army lieutenant, who has been held captive by the New People’s Army in Compostela Valley since Nov. 17, appealing to her husband’s captors to release him before Christmas. 1st Lt. Vicente Cammayo, company commander of the Army’s 11th Special Forces Company of the 3rd Special Forces Battalion, was wounded during an encounter with about 100 rebels at Sitio Anagase in Barangay (Village) Casoon in Monkayo town, it was learned. Lt. Col. Romeo Brawner, army spokesman said that while they are calling for the release of Lt. Vicente Cammayo, troops would press on with the hunt for his captors, who, in a recent statement, claimed that the officer is allegedly undergoing investigation for various human rights violations and other alleged crimes. Lt. Col. Romeo Brawner, army spokesman said that was only doing his job as a legitimate military officer and member of the only authorized organization to use force and weapons and that is the Armed Forces of the Philippines.

I can’t help but write about this. I know I should write something joyful but I cannot be completely happy when I know there are people out there whose only wish to be with their family. I am being selfish if I thought of only myself. My wish this Christmas is freedom for all prisoners of war, medicine to those who are sick, peace of mind to those confused, and love to whoever is need of it.



Responses

  1. I know what you mean, its sad to think that while we are all happy at christmas that people are suffering like that. Good post.


Leave a Reply

Categories

